January’s Meet, Make & Munch

It’s been a while, but let’s start this thing off again! I miss writing. Actually, I miss having time for me. There are always so many other things I could (should) be doing during nap time – washing, cooking dinner, cleaning sinks etc. – that I tend to try to get those done first. Then, when I do finally sit down with a coffee, biscuit and the remote control, nap time is miraculously over. Recently, however, I have found myself having a little more time to play with and have also been inspired by what other friends are doing regarding hobbies and following their interests. So, with that in mind, I’m going to attempt to resurrect the blog and, hopefully, pursue and develop a few skills I used to possess but which haven’t been given the opportunities to grow recently!

Meet…

This month brings the first full ‘normal’ month opening for Natural Foundations at their new place on Writtle Road and I’m confident in saying that if you loved the last site, you’ll love this one just as much. With more indoor space, perfect for the British weather, but still a large, if more defined, outdoor space, and salopettes and waterproofs to borrow on the way out if needed, it’s the perfect place to meet with friends.

The owners have worked incredibly hard to repaint and reinvigorate the original garden nursery areas and have injected warmth and brightness with a scandi feel through rugs, new wooden toys and wall murals. Pizzas and other foods, alongside a regular drinks menu, are now offered, making it the perfect place to meet with friends with young children. Well, I say young, but my 7.5 year old also loves it here!

Make…

This month is the start of a new year and signals, for many of us, an opportunity to make changes, such as reducing our plastic use and waste. So, with that in mind, and having been gifted a set of Natural Beeswax Wraps for Christmas, I decided to have a go at making my own. Now, the manufactured versions contain pine resin and jojoba oil, hence their clinginess, but working with resin and its high melting point brings problems of its own, so I made the decision to simply use natural beeswax instead.

The finished wraps aren’t as clingy as the shop-bought versions, but are great for making pouches for snacks, such as nuts, and for wrapping cold foods, like sandwiches and cheese. I found some beautiful fabric online and used that to begin. Having found I had rather a lot of fabric left I offered some wraps to friends and couldn’t believe the response! So since then, I’ve had to restock with two more sets of fabric and buy more wax! Suffice to say, I’ve been busy but have enjoyed being creative again!

Click here to watch some of my quick videos on how to use and fold your wraps!

Munch…

Chicken & Mushroom pie…a perfect winter warmer. You’ll find the recipe over at Bon Appétit but it’s essentially a quick shortcrust pastry filled with chicken, mushroom and thyme in a white sauce. And it’s one both girls will eat, which is always a result. Top tip for this one is to cook it in a metal tin, thus ensuring no soggy bottoms.

And so ends this post. Finally! It took a little while to get back into the swing of actually writing but hopefully I’ll improve over the next few months!

See you in February!

Leave a comment